Back to the Future with Shampoo Bars

When packing trunks for summer camp, soaps and hair care products must be sulfate free – for lake bathing. This meant that I sent my little darling off with bars of soap to her horror – she wanted a plastic bottle. This is what happens when you have older parents- I was raised with bars of soap which we kept in surf clam soap dishes – and took to camp in tins -Much more practical in my opinion – no leaking

Now we are coming full circle again and plastic free is a must and everyone and their brother are selling bars – touting their travel convenience and plastic free elements.

Here are R favorites

J.R. Liggett’s shampoo bars – they sell a conditioner bar too.

Sally’s Andre No-Bite- Me -wonderful herbal scent to keep bugs away – totally works –

When it comes to camping, smaller is better, so I buy the travel size that fit in lidded tins – or just slice up a full size bar with a bench scraper –

Bench Scraper

Lidded tins for storage

Honestly they are mild enough that you can wash your whole body head to toe with either one. If you have hard water – a teaspoon of baking soda in a cup of water will help with lathering. Full disclosure – I use them on my dogs too

If you want to make you own – it’s easier than you think – see the recipes on our sister site – Sherborn Lavender –

Join the conversation

or to participate.