Bakery Surprise

On Sunday mornings, to my surprise, you can find me outside Hickey’s Liquor Store in Milford, Mass. I gave up my boyfriend Jim Beam years ago, so I’m not there for the booze, but the bread – more specifically, the laminated brioche.

Laminated Brioche

This is a tale of Yankee Ingenuity. A gem of a patisserie inside of the entrance of a liquor store, owned by the uncle of the baker.

Here, the owners, Helene and Daniel, wait on you and hustle out to the counter with trays of warm bread, brioche, danish , croissants, tarts, buns and quiche. There are meat pies and pizza- this week we bought the kielbasa pie.

You can follow them on Instagram, to find out what’s new and what is still in the case after the morning rush.

Worth a trip from anywhere. Just off 495.

Original New England at its best

The post Bakery Surprise appeared first on Notablerose.

Join the conversation

or to participate.