Bird Cams

So many bird cams , so little time. I have always been intrigued by the cameras that are set up by conservation organizations at birds nests . I have watched Peregrine falcons, red tail hawks, and puffins just to name a few. One day our ring video doorbell recorded a clip of a Carolina wren who nests by our porch door. I thought that was cool, but it was just a fluke. It never happened again.

Now some Instagrams post amazing close up photos of birds. Naturally, I thought, I want to do that. So I started researching wildlife cameras. How hard can it be? Many require micro Sandisks, which just seemed like too much work, so I starting searching for wireless options.

I started with a waterproof outdoor surveillance camera named blink from Amazon. I connected it to our Wifi and set it up by our feeder. I started getting lots of notifications and saw lots of video of squirrels and swaying trees, but no birds. I turned it off.

Next, I ordered something called Bird Photo Booth. This seemed very promising. It came with a little bowl to put birdseed in and looked like a vintage camera. The website showed happy families enjoying wildlife up close on their phones in the comfort of their homes. I downloaded the app and found a You Tube vidéo of instructions. Try as I might, I could never get the camera to connect to the Wi-Fi or my phone. Following my father’s old adage, I turned everything off to try again in a couple of days.

I got distracted by bluebirds nesting in our meadow. I hauled out my “good” camera with the zoom, but in the end found my iPhone 11 camera got the best shot

Now, we haven’t had rain in a while, so our bird bath is getting a lot of interest. I got the bright idea to move the original blink camera over there… and success- resulting in the video you see above. Maybe it’s time to give the bird photo booth a second try too.

So, I abandoned the bird photo booth……for a wildlife trail camera with night vision….. let’s see what happens….not much….as it happens… mostly took shots of my dogs and required a connection set up often. I returned it.

The post Bird Cams appeared first on Notablerose.

Reply

or to participate.