Carry on #nationalhandbagday

I can’t tell you exactly when I became a bag lady. It was more of an evolution.

We’re not talking designer bags or leather goods. We are talking fun bags. Bags in different shapes, sizes, colors and materials.

My first bag was a school bag. We didn’t have back packs. We carried Danish school bags from the Marimekko store. They were sort of like modern day messenger bags with big flaps.

Then we had overnight bags for sleepovers. These were from LL Bean. Boat Totes. Camp meant duffle bags and dunk bags and string bags that doubled as hammocks.

As I grew, every activity and project had its own bag. Swim bag,Tennis bag, Golf bag, Beach bag, Knitting bag, Lunch bag, work bag, camera bag, watercolor bag, library bag, computer bag, bar bag, first aid bag,dog bag, diaper bag- you get the picture.

When I got to suburbia and spent hours everyday in my car I started keeping bags in bags and collecting brightly colored reusable bags for groceries. My car bag is filled with a rain jacket, an extra fleece, a blanket, binoculars, a book, a camera and an empty thermal bag (for left overs), a roll of paper towel, trash bags and a leash. With these supplies I am ready to be a sports spectator or pivot to a walk in the woods or picnic.

As my bag collection grew, I made a Pinterest board. You can view some of my favorites there.

The post Carry on #nationalhandbagday appeared first on Notablerose.

Reply

or to participate.