Cucumber/Pickling Season

Right now, farmers markets are filled with cucumbers of all sizes. Cukes -we always called them in our family. I first grew cucumbers at a summer camp that I attended in the Berkshire in the 60s. They are easy to grow, but I haven’t had a vegetable garden for a while, so I search the farmers markets instead. I have seen cucumbers grown in containers, but I have not tried it yet.

Anyway, traditionally, Pickling cucumbers aka Kirbys are the classic because they are shorter and bigger around, but I just use any old cucumber and and cut it into slices or spears. I prefer the long – so called sandwich slices. You can use a mandolin slicer or a Y peeler for these. But sometimes it just easier to cut the cucumber into spears.

Now, what to do with your cut cucumbers? See below.

Russian No Vinegar Paper Bag Contents

Recently, I made the acquaintance of a vendor who was selling no vinegar pickle “kits”. The kit was actually a paper lunch bag filled with what I think are currant leaves, a few cloves of garlic and Himalayan salt. It came with no instructions or pickling spices or pepper. She urged me to wash the “herbs” and place them in a bowl with the cucumber, water and salt, and assured me I would have pickles in about half and hour. I did not, but it was interesting to try.

I did Google Russian no vinegar pickles for back up and found recipes that involved dill.

Over at the Gourmet creations table- they sell a jar with the spices – you just add vinegar and sugar – this is much more my speed – The hot and spicy mix does not disappoint. Look for them at local farmers markets and fairs or on line.

Of course, you can DIY and just pick up a jar of McCormick Mixed Pickling Spices at your grocery store and add water, vinegar, sugar and garlic and cucumbers to your own mason jar. If you are looking for spicy you can add crushed red pepper. There are plenty of How Tos on McCormick. Com

If you don’t want to be bothered pickling at all – There easy cucumber salads that give you the crunch without the pickle. These are my favorites.

The post Cucumber/Pickling Season appeared first on Notablerose.

Reply

or to participate.