Election Day

Voting

I grew up assuming everybody did it.

I waited in a long line with my parents to vote at The Park Avenue Armory.

My children waited in a short line with me at our local town hall.

I made sure my children registered to vote

I feel so proud to be an American when I exercise my right to vote. I use to wear a red white and blue scarf with Stars and Stripes to the polls. Yes, I was that crazy lady.

We voted early this year.

Dropping our ballot at our town hall drop and tracking it on line.

It almost makes Election Day feel like a non event, except this year businesses are boarding up their windows and extra police are being called in.

I can’t watch the coverage – the combative, divisive ,vitriolic hatred- the fear mongering – tearing apart the land that I love, leaves me close to tears every time I try.

The early voting turnout and the voters waiting in line for hours, give me hope that more voices are being heard – That this won’t be the election that could break America.

Today, I am going to listen to Kate Smith and hope for the best, while preparing for the worst.

From the mountains to the prairies

To the oceans white with foam

God bless America, my home sweet home

The post Election Day appeared first on Notablerose.

Reply

or to participate.