Every Day is a Great Day to say Thank You~

Yes, it’s true, I get everything delivered. I always have and I probably always will. You can file it under -you can take the girl out of the city, but you can’t take the city out of the girl. Growing up, our household had everything from groceries to laundry and liquor delivered. We didn’t have vehicles -we had delivery entrances. REA express Company was my favorite delivery truck.

Later, when we lived 30 miles at sea, it was a red letter day when UPS started delivering to the island. No more day trips to the mainland to fill up the car with supplies for the winter. 1-800- whatever you need – became the new norm. I was an avid catalogue shopper. Mostly from LL Bean for clothes and Macy’s for bed and bath linens and towels. Remember Lilian Vernon? They had great kids stuff.

We all know what happened next. With the advent of the Internet, I could search and order things from all over the world – even from my old New York neighborhood. Needless to say, I was an early Amazon adapter and I haven’t looked back.

Now, It would probably be easier if I just told you what I don’t have delivered. Everything from dog food to coffee and toothpaste is on auto delivery. The same for laundry soap, birdseed,trash bags and toilet paper. Even Eataly has home delivery.

When COVID-19 shut down Massachusetts and we started to shelter in place – I started receiving calls asking how I did it:) Here are a few of my favorites.

Misfits is a virtual farmers market with slightly less than beautiful organic produce. It’s fun to open the box and see what is in season and then figure out What you are going to do with it – By subscription

Dakin Farm is in Vermont and sells Cabot’s cheese in all forms as well as bacon and other meat products

For our multiple dog requirements – we mostly use chewy – but Target also has a great selection. Target has recently stopped having subscription services. Boo. However, you can find lots of other things on their site too. Their delivery is pretty fast too.

For bread and other baked goods

For Baking Supplies

For holiday treats – my favorite is the Vermont country store. It’s old fashioned, I know, But there are many hard to find items on their site

Please, don’t forget to thank your delivery drivers.

Join the conversation

or to participate.