Gloved History

Are gloves making a comeback?

When we were children in the 60s we wore white gloves to Sunday School. We kept them in a little drawer in my father’s campaign chest next to the door. It was a routine to put them on on our way out and to put them back when we got home. I suppose they got washed often, as I can’t imagine white gloves staying clean long in the city.

We wore white gloves for Bell Choir and Dancing School too. Doormen wore gloves and sometimes waiters. For dressy events we had gloves that went up to our elbows. It all seems very strange looking back on it now. Like something from the 1800s. Maybe it was another one of those city girl things.

We had winter gloves, driving gloves, dishwashing gloves, gardening gloves, golf gloves – well you get the picture – lots of gloves. They each had a place where they were kept and could be reliably found again in pairs. A place for every glove and every glove in its place. Those days are long gone.

Now we are forever taking off a glove to touch a screen – tucking it in a pocket and forgetting about it – Yes, I have the touch screen gloves, and they work pretty well – but I get impatient and yank the glove off anyway.

With the pandemic – something new emerged – errand gloves – also known as all season travel gloves. Like our old cotton gloves they are washable. Another type of glove is out there too – UV protection – SPF 50 gloves. These come in several versions – fingerless – up to the elbow and wrist length – Some have grippy palms to double as driving gloves.

SPF 50 glove variety

I actually have errand gloves – since I have to hold on to railings to use stairs and door jambs to navigate thresholds – they give me an extra grip and save me from splinters too. With Covid, I felt justified wearing them when I ventured out. As the weather warms up and we aren’t wearing long sleeves – they look a little odd – but one pair is beautiful enough to over come that with Van Gogh artwork – Of course, inevitably one comes off, and when masked, I look like a Michael Jackson caricature. Who knows- maybe he was predicting the future, not just creating a look 

As I scroll through the glove offerings on web sites, I wonder if errand gloves are here to stay.

The Sermoneta Family has been making gloves since the 60s with the belief that “each hand wearing its glove expresses a message and language of personality”. I don’t think I can really claim to be doing that, but here is the link to their beautiful gloves and others if you want to join me .

The post Gloved History appeared first on Notablerose.

Reply

or to participate.