Happy Birthday Cole Porter

It was just one of those things…I latched onto Ella Fitzgerald singing the Cole Porter songbooks and I never looked back. Even now, decades later, I know all the lyrics. I may not remember what I had for breakfast, but my Cole Porter Music memory is alive and well. With Ella, you could understand every word/note and the rhyming was so clever- it was just fun to listen to. Except for Miss Otis Regrets- I usually skip over that one. I saw Kiss Me Kate and Anything Goes as revivals. For one magical night I saw Ella live at Lincoln Center with Count Basie, but mostly I played the record over and over again with my high school classmates. I get a lot of blank stares, when people ask me what I am listening to when my earbuds are in. Sometimes, I connect to a Bluetooth speaker, so they can appreciate the magic, but mostly I keep my Cole Porter/Ella Fitzgerald music crush to myself. Just this week I was singing- It’s too darn hot- to my dogs when I let them out- and they don’t mind at all

From Spotify. In case you are wondering what I am talking about- Enjoy the next hour and 48 minutes:)

The post Happy Birthday Cole Porter appeared first on Notablerose.

Reply

or to participate.