I’m a Binge Watcher 📺

There’s no doubt that at home streaming has spoiled us. Widening the availability of offerings is a perk – not having to leave the house and having enough light to knit by – a bonus.

I have to admit that with so many choices, I have a hard time remembering what platform offers what. Only Murders in the Building – Hulu or HBO? Same with White Lotus and Nine Perfect Strangers – The Morning Show ? – oh right, that is Apple TV which I subscribed to so I could have the Disney channel – in order to see Hamilton the movie and have HBO Max – but now both are available from my Cable provider, along with Netflix. It’s a lot to keep track of. Plus Apple TV meant another remote – until I figured out how to control it from my phone.

Don’t get me started on Netflix vs Prime – We often start a series watch one or two episodes and then can’t remembers few night later if it’s on Netflix or Prime or Acorn – or whose profile we logged in with – Even good old PBS series now appear on streaming platforms. I started using post it notes – Surely there must be an app for that, I thought. So I started to keep track of what I watch with IMDB thinking that would solve that dilemma – but it turns out to be owned by Amazon- so they don’t always own up to what is available on anything but Prime. I do like being able to look up the cast member and I keep watch lists – to prevent the inevitable – have we already watched this dilemma.

If it’s on my watch list – that means I tried it – but didn’t necessarily carry on – I don’t actually rate or review anything.

I still use the old reliable DVR to record Network series as well. I especially love how I can set recordings from my phone with the remote app –

I can fast forward through the advertising and easily cut 20 – 30 minutes off of my watch time per episode. The Rookie on ABC even does it if for you -sort of automatically -by offering a yellow line on the bottom of the screen for the ads and restarts again afterwards – I do love that. I haven’t figured out why some series offer that feature and others don’t – yet.

Anyway, back to Only Murders in the Building – I found it on Hulu and watched an episode. What? I can’t fast forward through the commercials? Was that a Liquor Ad? I haven’t seen one of those in a while….but then there was no next episode feature…. I realized I had to wait another week for that! – What?!? – again . Oh, my, that’s when I realized that Binge Watching has ruined me. I forgot to watch last week – so this week I could watch two episodes – which was enough. When I say Binge, I mean more than one episode, although with Virgin River, I have been known to go to three.

For old schoolers, like me, who grew up without Cable TV, – just four networks, no TV in the summer or on school nights and movie theaters – I sometimes have to pinch myself to realize that this is the new reality. It’s especially incredible to me that so many classic movies are available at the click of a button – Going to the movies use to be an adventure for me – I could recall which movie I saw in which theater and with whom. Most of the theaters are, of course, history now, as are most of my former movie companions.

The first show we ever Binge Watched was 24 – back in the DVD days, when we were still borrowing from Block Buster – now I do sound like a dinasour – so enough. What a difference a decade makes.

The post I’m a Binge Watcher 📺 appeared first on Notablerose.

Reply

or to participate.