Winter Blooms

The Amaryllis bulb is my kind of plant. Easy to grow, with or without soil, no maintenance, and spectacular blooms.

The name Amaryllis is from Greek mythology and symbolizes strength, determination and love. Excellent qualities.

This time of year amaryllis bulbs appear everywhere. At the grocer, in the gardening centers and catalogs and even Amazon. Luckily for me, there is a friendly local garden club nearby that delivered mine yesterday.

Amaryllis can be potted in soil but I don’t plant them that way. When I say plant, I use the term loosely. What I really mean is that I pick a tall vase – fill the bottom with pebbles or marbles cover them with water and put the bulb on top. The taller the vase, the better to support the stem later.

Keep the vase in indirect sunlight. Regularly Monitor the water level and rotate the container every couple of days – then Sit back and enjoy the show. Most bloom in 6-8 weeks. Some bloom more than once. Everyone should have one.

A newer development are wax covered bulbs that are totally maintenance free. I have no idea how they work, but you don’t even have to water them. I first discovered these at my local Trader Joe’s and they are seriously amazing. You can give one to anybody and they will thank you for it.

If you can’t source Amaryllis bulbs locally, try these web sites below

Now, more than ever, we all could use some indoor blooms. Gift yourself one and consider sharing this natural wonder with those you know who are isolated by Covid-19 this winter as well.

The post Winter Blooms appeared first on Notablerose.

Reply

or to participate.