Knitting project surprise

I wanted to knit with something cozy, so I ordered this Chenille Yarn . I was thinking about making a cowl.

Obviously, I didn’t pay enough attention to the description. When a huge box arrived I thought- oh no, what did I do? – order multiples? I’ve been known to make that mistake from drop down menus. I laughed out loud when I saw this giant cake inside.

My first thought – I think I’m going to need a bigger knitting bag Then I realized, I won’t be weaving in tails with this baby. With one cake, I will end up with a single 4’x4’ blanket. For you non knitters out there, commercial yarn usually comes in a skein that you wind into a ball by hand to knit. Cakes have been wound – on a winder for you. This is the biggest cake I have ever seen, but of course I haven’t been in a yarn or craft store for 10 months, so maybe they are everywhere. It won’t be a portable project. In fact, I had to do some redecorating to find a spot to place it next to my chair.

I started last night, and it is nice and soft and cozy to work with. It knits up quickly and I like the dark sea glass colors. I think we have a winner.

With a winter storm watch in the forecast, I will be all set for a couple of days, at least…. Let it snow….

The post Knitting project surprise appeared first on Notablerose.

Reply

or to participate.