Life is like a garden

My niece is a certified master gardener. Somehow she was able to extract seeds from my late sister’s lettuce and arugula, which she gifted to me last Christmas. I planted them in my Aerogarden in my kitchen, where they have thrived. Below is a picture of the lettuce dwarfing the arugula before my second harvest this week.

Lydia’s Lettuce & Arugula

The Aerogarden came with basil and mint seeds that are struggling to keep up on the left. No surprise there.

When we left the house we grew up in, decades ago, we took cuttings from the ivy that covered the walls of our city garden to plant at our next home. I can only imagine that Lydia would love that her lettuce lives on in my kitchen now and in her children’s gardens.

From our childhood library, we loved The Secret Garden and Frances Hodges Burnett for teaching us that we could still bloom where we were planted. We learned that our gardens -whatever form they take- are always a way to focus on an activity that brings joy.

The post Life is like a garden appeared first on Notablerose.

Join the conversation

or to participate.