Return to Windows

Five years ago I bought a MacBook Air after decades of working with PCs. Remember MS DOS? I felt like thoroughly modern Millie finally going over to the other side that everyone had been telling me for years was preferable.

Mostly I switched because I became addicted to my iPhone and its calendars. I liked the idea of everything syncing on all my devices. To be able to enter in all the sports, work and school schedules, just once, and share them with family members was a convenience that I could not resist.

It was an adjustment. I missed my numeric keypad. Many of my daily programs did not work as smoothly or required extra steps to function in the Mac operating system, but they did work, for the most part. Recently, I started receiving notices that new releases of my software required Operating system updates that were not available for my computer. After that came the cloud sync errors. In 5 short years, my MacBook Air had become a legacy product. Sigh. I looked at the price tags to upgrade and decided to go back to Windows.

Yesterday , when I installed all my programs or should I say subscriptions, I realized I had been trying to fit a square peg into a round hole, all this time. There were no work arounds, no warnings. Just good old, reliable, affordable technology. Everything synced and set up on the first try. My data entry flew with the return of the numeric keypad. I moved my calendar to Google, which syncs with my Echo, and gives me verbal reminders, in my kitchen, which I like better anyway. I found myself wondering why I had ever switched platforms. The quality of the camera is not as high, I’ll admit, it’s a little grainy, but neither was the price tag – a four figure difference.

For me, it was like reconnecting with an old friend. We just took up where we left off, agreeing on so many things, without a lot of clutter on my desktop.

Thank You Microsoft

The post Return to Windows appeared first on Notablerose.

Reply

or to participate.