Spence Library Plaque Saga

When my parents died, their obituaries requested donations to our school, in lieu of flowers.  Both of my parents had worked in the world of children's books.  My mother was a reviewer for Publisher's Weekly.  My father worked for Doubleday.  Memorial Plaques were placed on the library doors.  Every year while I was a student, Barbara Barksdale, would call me down to her class to meet the girl who was the daughter of the names on the plaques.  Fast forward  twenty years and another donor made a large gift that resulted in a renovation and renaming of the library.  When the school called to solicit me for a gift for the new library, I inquired about the plaques only to learn that they had been lost.  This turn of events greatly saddened me.  Anyone who has lost a family member knows that one takes comfort in the thought that they are gone, but not forgotten.  As my 40th reunion approaches, I shared this information with the alumnae office.  Heartfelt thanks to Emily Stone and Bodie Brizendine for overseeing the installation of a replacement plaque today.  It brings a tear to my eye even as I type.

The post Spence Library Plaque Saga appeared first on Notablerose.

Reply

or to participate.