The Power of Small Business

So I have already blogged about my hearing loss this spring. At my last ENT appointment, I was told to get hearing aids. Easier said than done….try getting an appointment. First I checked with my insurance … yes, hearing aids are covered if you are under 21:)

A friend told me to try Cosco….they were booking 3 weeks out. Once they see you – you wait another two weeks for the aids to come in. I made the appointment. I wondered about trying Miracle Ear.

A Few friends have tbe the same brand that they recommended- I decided to Google the brand name and look for places that carry them. I found small independent family owned hearing center near me. They have been in business since 1950 and offered me an appointment the next day- Really? I thought, what do I have to lose? . They have a basic website, but that’s it- no social media links. An unassuming storefront I have driven by probably a thousand times without noticing.

I had my hearing test faxed over and had my hearing aids the following Monday. Two business days after my appointment . No lines, no waiting, no crowded office, no hard sell – It gets better… the aids come with a three year warranty for damage or loss and the hearing center cleans them free of charge every six months. Friendly two person office. I could not believe it. They walk you patiently through the directions and answer all your questions. A huge relief. I kept saying- I am so glad I found you

Believe me, I never thought I would be excited about hearing aids, of all things, but the experience reminded me of the power of small businesses that so often get overlooked in our Instagram world. It took me back to my New York City childhood- before chains- where the corner store (Jack’s), the shoe maker, the drugstore, the laundry, the deli, were all independent small businesses where the owner waited on you and knew your name. It was like a gift:)

The post The Power of Small Business appeared first on Notablerose.

Join the conversation

or to participate.