Tonight’s the night – Meteor Month

When we lived on Nantucket, I used to say if you turned off the porch light, you could see the whole Milky Way. The other night I dreamt I was in the yard of the house my father bought on the island when I was 9, looking up at such a sky. I woke myself up, talking in my sleep, saying “ Thank You, Daddy , I have really loved this”. Later, I realized on the calendar it was one of the days between his birthday and the day he died, two weeks after he turned 46. It’s amazing how the subconscious works sometimes. The Perseids usually peak around August 12th, which is also the day my father’s obituary appeared in The New York Times, 52 years ago. It’s silly, I know, but I have always liked to think that he is one of those shooting stars, blazing across the night sky and filling me with wonder.

Reply

or to participate.