Warm Towels

When I was a girl, one of my favorite things was the warm towels that came out after the PuPu Platter at Sheila Chang’s on Third Avenue, – to my father’s puzzlement, but he was happy to smile and indulge me. In a world before microwaves, I spent a lot of time trying to recreate the experience at home – I decided I would try wet wash clothes and put them on a cookie sheet in the which was frowned upon and ultimately not successful as I needed assistance to reach the wall oven and no one was willing to be my partner is that shenanigan. Later when someone gave us crockpot for Christmas, I tried that, too. – For some reason, I was totally obsessed.

When I went to visit my sister in England, I discovered the heated towel rack. Wow. When I got back to our Manhattan Townhouse I decided to keep my towels on the steam radiators and pretend that we, too, had heated towel racks.

I went off to college and forgot about heated towels for a while – and then I landed in the hospital for a surgery and the nurse offered me a heated blanket ! What!?! Yes, please, A warm flannel sheet enveloped me and I was instantly transported back to happier times.

It turns out that this is standard practice now and every time I am hospitalized -which has been more times than I can count on two hands -I look forward to the heated blanket. I am like a second grader in Sheila Chang’s, delighted and clapping every time to receive one. It makes the nurses smile – although I imagine they roll their eyes when they turn away- What a kook!

Somehow, my youngest child inherited this love of warm towels gene, and unbeknownst to me starting sticking her towel and bathrobe in the dryer to heat up before she hopped in the shower. – What a good idea. This worked for her because her bath was close to the laundry, but mine was on the other side of the house. Someone would have to grab my towel from the dryer and bring it to me, which seemed like too big of an ask.

This year, through the magic of Amazon, my youngest found a free standing towel warmer and had it delivered to me. Yay! It looks like a hamper, but you press the button on front and voila instant 15 minute warming. Now, everyday, as I head into 2023, my inner 8 year old gets to smile back at me as I wrap myself in warmth. I can see my father shaking his head, that such a simple thing would make me so happy. I have a lotion heater too, but that’s a story for another day.

Towel Warmer

By, the way – the crock pot totally works for washcloths and hand towels too -but you want to use one that is separate from your cooking.

The post Warm Towels appeared first on Notablerose.

Join the conversation

or to participate.